Gay marriage, another personal take

As someone else already pointed out, marriage ceremony was always between one man and one woman in Judeo-Christian culture, although one man could end up with more than one living wife in several cultures in history (including The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS Church) up to the turn of the 20th century).

The lurid ideas that some people seem to have (I have personally heard some tell of their own ideas, although they could have done that for sport) of group sex and so forth were never a part of the teachings. Brigham Young sounded off a lot about a lot of things, but let’s remember that for believing Mormons there is no problem with new revelation, which corrects some misunderstandings and false traditions of their fathers.

On the other hand, I as a European Mormon have at times been uncomfortable with what I’ve seen as “trying to curry favor with the fundamentalist” Christian right (as inhttp://huff.to/xe5lX9 on Feb 9th) in the USA (e.g. Romney’s change of opinion regarding abortion). But I’ve always seen that as personal opinion. Myself, I’m as liberal as you can dream of in that the line for me is that the churches should have the right to decide what kind of marriages they accept, while keeping the Government out of people’s personal affairs. I lean towards libertarianism in that any individual rights should not be restricted, unless their actions cause real harm to others.

My recommendation would be to altogether remove the word “marriage” from civil law, and let any recognised church decide what “marriage” means to them, and call it such. Or call religious unions between whomever, as long as they’re consenting adults, whatever else would give them a separate status from civil unions if they wish. This would avoid any trouble with somebody suing the LDS Church, for example, for the right to have their union solemnised in the temples of the Church, as long as the Church does not sanction SSM. That that issue may change in the future, when a younger, better educated and more cosmopolitan people from Europe, Asia and Africa become the new leadership. I’m not saying it should (or shouldn’t), but that it could.

I realise mine is not a popular view in any circles, but I think it would be a start of normalising gays and gay unions in society, so that a gay person can be just another human being among other human beings. That would clear a lot of bad feelings and high-volume contention. I think so, that is. Also, if it so happens that the Church will recognise civil unions between gays (which it socially more or less advocated through some high representatives in 2008), and that would mean that their relationship with the Church would be normalised from the Church’s point in regards of chastity.

To pick an issue from that Huffpost article linked to above, if you count LDS members’ volunteer work as donated dollars, then any other organisation (including pro-gay marriage ones) should be treated the same way. The Church has an infrastructure in place for that, so there’s no extra monetary outlay for that. And a lot of members did not participate, because they didn’t feel they could go along with the idea.

I don’t believe in forcing others to live by the same standards I try to live by myself. That’s called freedom, in my humble opinion. I am not necessarily criticising what the Church did in the 2008 campaign, but I know it created bad blood among membership and wider society.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Mormonism, Politics, Religion, Society
2 comments on “Gay marriage, another personal take
  1. Well, I am sure that you are not surprised that I don’t agree with you. You even stated that your ideas are not popular. (I did not use the links you provided but based my response on what you wrote.) I think that marriage, established by God, should be between a man and a woman. That man and woman should not be already married to another person, unless that other person has passed away, then they may be free to marry. As for “gay” marriages, Family Radio used to have a tract called “Gay Pride”, it was showing us that the fact that the world was celebrating “Gay Pride” that that in itself was a sign that we are near the end of time, the end of the world. Here is a quote from it:

    “GAY PRIDE & SAME SEX MARRIAGE SUCCESSES; A SIGN FROM GOD THAT JUDGMENT DAY IS VERY NEAR The world-wide success of the Gay Pride/Same Sex
    Marriage movement is a dramatic sign provided by God to warn the world that the world is on the threshold of Judgment Day. In the Bible God has given a number of signs to warn the
    world that Judgment Day and the end of the world are very close.”

    I don’t think this is still available from Family Radio, but you might be able to find it somewhere. http://www.familyradio.com/
    Thank you.

    • Velska says:

      I guess that I think that the gay marriage movement owes a lot to the endless gay-bashing one’s likely to hear (as in your comment above).

      I think I mentioned that I do have a problem with homosexual relationships, because they break the law of chastity (sex is for a man and a woman who are married to each other).

      Anyway, I don’t believe in forcing others to live my standards, as long as they don’t hurt me. Normalising homosexuality in society would make it less of a big deal for demagogues, and make gays less of a “threat to society” as they’re often now seen. I don’t think that this normalisation would “create” more gays all of a sudden.

      By the way, having read the Bible fairly carefully I have to say that I really don’t get the impression from the Genesis account that homosexuality was a specially big problem with Sodom & Gomorrah. Yet, even Paul cited that as the “sin of Sodom” or something. I don’t remember right now exactly where. And I could be wrong…

      In any case, there have been homosexuals in all known human civilisations. In some they’ve been treated with utter harshness, while in some they’ve been widely tolerated. I’m not sure whether openly homosexual lifestyle is a consequence of or reason for the treatment they’ve been getting.

      Anyway, I’m not about to throw rocks…

Comments are closed.

Monthly archives
Blog Stats
  • 7,784 hits
Some basic stuff about yours truly
February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  
Have some fun:

Ongoing campaign against DRM

Action against DRM
We are planning some action against "Defective by Design", AKA DRM

Usenet newsgroups from newsdemon

[FSF Associate Member]
Please take a look at Free Software Foundation, Freedom is important for software, too.

Categories
All Posts
some LDS-themed blogs and blog aggregators:

It looks like the WordPress site URL is incorrectly configured. Please check it in your widget settings.

You can mail me directly:
You can subscribe to my posts feed by clicking this:
Blog Stats
  • 7,784 hits
Perustuslakiblogi

Suomen valtiosääntöoikeudellisen seuran ajankohtaispalsta

The Neighborhood

telling the story from every vantage point

Heather Marsh

Rethinking the moats and mountains

Liberal Bias

"Reality has a well-known liberal bias."

Etsivä löytää

Suomalaisten sekalaista pohdintaa mormoniudesta

Feast upon the Word Blog

A blog focused on LDS scriptures and teaching

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Falling Forward

Day by day, step by step, I become a little more unbroken. And though sometimes I fall…I’m forever falling forward.

Gently Hew Stone

Arts. Education. Humor. Literature. Living Well. Politics. Religion. By a father of seven. "The rebel of the 21st century will be old fashioned."

Eternal Perception

My thoughts about this life and the next.

